“Soğuk” stories III: Hasankeyf… my love!

dscn0633Oh, Hasankeyf! Forgotten cave town of Eastern Turkey…you are haunting my daydreams and memories. Testimony of the past, secret of the present … I was enchanted by your calls to prayer, colourful bazaar, rainbow spices, medley of flavours and smiling people…

How time flies, but still keeps our memories alive, held captive in a picture, an object, a flavour or a perfume… All we need is one look to trigger the sparkles of a false déjà vu…

It has been two years since I discovered this otherworldly place, which seemed rather the product of an imagined book written in a surreal time, between now and then. I instantly fell in love with its sunbathing hills, dusty paths, ancient rocks, mysterious caves and warm turquoise Tigris, which carries the secret of this place far away… to an uncertain future or maybe to a new, yet undiscovered past…

I fell in love with its playful, friendly children… whose dreams can change the future and memories the past… who know more than they can ever guess… but unheard stories pass away…

DSC00178surrounded by the children of Hasankeyf

Fell in love with the mystery of the around 4000 caves… some of them 12.000 years old… can you imagine what would it be like if these rocks could speak…?
dscn0615

I fell in love with this bazaar… guarded by the proud minaret of the Rızk Camii… which has been calling people around to prayer for around six centuries… never loosing its unifying voice… its fate and hope…

 

dscn0606

I fell in love with the Tigris river… so quiet… melting its refreshing water in the hot earth…

dscn0651

Hasankeyf, I fell in love with you!

 

3 thoughts on ““Soğuk” stories III: Hasankeyf… my love!

  1. I love how you express your love for Hasankeyf. For me it also is a very special place and I already visited it 3 times…
    …so sad that it will be buried under water soon…

    Greetings,
    rabirius

    Like

      • Yes, I hope so too. Though I’ve heard that they are already starting to deconstruct some of the old buildings to rebuild them again up the mountain close to Yeni Hasankeyf…
        …but I’m still hoping 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

